I’m supposed to be working on my novel right now, but I’m too tired, both physically and mentally and I have the sneaking suspicion that whatever I wrote would turn out to be even greater tripe than normal. One of my new year’s resolutions was to get my approx. 100,000 word first draft finished by my birthday. So, I have around 20 hours of dedicated writing time, including the day itself. Yes, setting myself a target like that probably isn’t conducive to good fiction, but I needed it damnit.

I’m tired due to the now customary game of five a side football after work on a Tuesday. I haven’t felt this exhausted in a good while, but then with each passing week (including two games), I feel I’m getting fitter and fitter. I do have an age advantage on the other guys, but I’ve never exactly been athletic. That said, since I’ve cut the sugar and fats out of my diet, I am feeling fitter. Tonight was the fifth game in a row where I haven’t needed to take a turn in goal (I feel like I’ve already typed this, but I shall press on), so there’s something going right.

My performance unfortunately didn’t match my new found stamina. I was average, apart from one well-hit left-foot shot that rebounded the whole length of the pitch after hitting the post. Still, if I was any good at football, I’d be writing this in my hotel room before/after my latest Champions League game.

One of my trinity of managers spoke to me about further education today. Apparently work are more than happy to pay for an HND or degree course for me, but it’s a lot to think about. I’d need to fully commit to a complete career change, I’d need to stay with my employers for another six and a half years…but there are pros, like almost guaranteed employment and a very good salary scale. I’m torn to say the least. Still, I hope to buy a new lens this month, something of a cheap filler, but maybe it’ll give me some intuition.

I really must go to my bed now…so sleepy.

Leave a comment